Three former Stone Crabs protected from Rule 5 draft

A trio of former Stone Crabs players were added to the Tampa Bay Rays 40-man roster on Tuesday in light of Wednesday’s deadline: teams with players exposed to the December draft had until midnight to protect qualifying players.

Kirby Yates (2010-2011), C.J. Riefenhauser (2012), and Jesse Hahn (2013) were all selected for the 40-man roster and thereby do not risk selection in the Rule 5.

Two former Stone Crabs remain exposed to the draft: Todd Glaesmann (2012) and Merrill Kelly (2011).

Information about the implications of the Rule 5 draft can be found here.


About kelliekarbach

Kellie is a creative based in Southwest Florida who tends to add a heaping tablespoon of Tolkien to her everyday insights. Her blog, Venturing East, consists of food, adventures, narratives, and attempts to offer insight on the everyday ordinary by molding it into something a touch more extraordinary.
This entry was posted in Class of 2010, Class of 2011, Class of 2012, Class of 2013, Transactions and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s