Florida State League All-Star Game Preview

The game will be held at Florida Auto Exchange Stadium in Dunedin. Photo courtesy of milb.com

The North and South divisions will face off this evening in the 52nd FSL All-Star Game at Florida Auto Exchange Stadium, the venue of the Dunedin Blue Jays. The reigning champion South division hopes to gain its second consecutive All-Star Game victory, having defeated the North 6-3 in 2012.

Prior to the actual match, the FSL’s best sluggers will channel their power in the Home Run Derby beginning at 5:35 p.m. The stars will then take the field at 7:05 p.m. A fireworks show immediately after the game will wrap up the evening’s festivities.

The Stone Crabs earned five selections on the FSL South roster (listed below). Jake Hager was initially chosen, but will not be able to play due to his status on the DL. Richie Shaffer was a late addition.

FSL South Roster 


  • Austin Barnes (Jupiter)
  • Curt Casali (Charlotte: .308 batting average, 2 homeruns, 5 RBIs in 78 at-bats)
  • Matt Koch (Fort Myers)


  • Jake Hager (Charlotte: .290 batting average, 13 RBIs, 9 stolen bases in 221 at-bats)
  • Richie Shaffer (Charlotte: .241 batting average, 4 homeruns, 27 RBIs in 212 at-bats)
  • Alen Hansen (Bradenton)
  • T.J. Rivera (St. Lucie)
  • Miguel Sano (Fort Myers; promoted to Double-A)
  • Kennys Vargas (Fort Myers)*
  • Jonathan Rodriguez (Palm Beach)


  • Isaac Galloway (Jupiter)
  • Dustin Lawley (St. Lucie)*
  • Stephen Piscotty (Palm Beach)*
  • Gregory Polanco (Bradenton; promoted to Double-A)


  • Ryan Carpenter (Charlotte: 6-3, 3.50 ERA, 64 strikeouts in 70 innings)
  • Anthony DeSclafani (Jupiter)
  • Jesse Hahn (Charlotte: 0-1, 1.23 ERA, 43 strikeouts in 44 innings)
  • Zach Jones (Fort Myers)
  • Nick Kingham (Bradenton)
  • Justin Nicolino (Jupiter)
  • Taylor Rogers (Fort Myers)
  • Noah Syndergaard (St. Lucie)
  • Corey Williams (Fort Myers)
  • Nick Wittgren (Jupiter)

Coaches: Andy Haines, Joe Coleman, Corey Hart, Patrick Amorelli, Rigoberto Silverio (all Jupiter)

FSL North Roster:


  • Cameron Garfield (Brevard County)
  • Logan Moore (Clearwater)
  • Gary Sanchez (Tampa)


  • Carlos Alonso (Clearwater)
  • Javier Baez (Daytona)*
  • Andy Burns (Dunedin)*
  • Maikel Franco (Clearwater)*
  • Dustin Geiger (Daytona)*
  • Nick Ramirez (Brevard County)*


  • Aaron Altherr (Clearwater)
  • John Andreoli (Daytona)
  • Cameron Perkins (Clearwater)
  • Jorge Soler (Daytona)


  • Gabriel Arias (Clearwater)
  • Scott Copeland (Dunedin)
  • Tony Davis (Dunedin)
  • Perci Garner (Clearwater)
  • David Goforth (Brevard County)
  • Shane Greene (Tampa)
  • Jesse Hernandez (Dunedin)
  • Blake McFarland (Dunedin)
  • Melvin Mercedes (Lakeland)
  • Kyle Ryan (Lakeland)

Coaches: Dave Huppert, Mike Maroth, Larry Herndon, T.J. Obergfell, John Gentile (all Lakeland)

Note: Home Run Derby participants are indicated with an asterisk (*)


About kelliekarbach

Kellie is a creative based in Southwest Florida who tends to add a heaping tablespoon of Tolkien to her everyday insights. Her blog, Venturing East, consists of food, adventures, narratives, and attempts to offer insight on the everyday ordinary by molding it into something a touch more extraordinary.
This entry was posted in Class of 2013, Series Preview and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s